New homes
New build sites in Edinburgh
Every housing site with planning consent in Edinburgh, from The City of Edinburgh Council’s housing land audit and planning register. It covers 376 sites and 42,039 homes, 38,360 of them still to build.
The totals count each home once. A site the council's audit already holds under another name, or one announced by a developer and not yet in any council schedule, is drawn on the map and left out of the totals. Last updated August 2026, and refreshed monthly.
Sites
376
Homes counted
42,039
Still to build
38,360
Building now
87
By town
Where the homes are going in Edinburgh
The council's schedule places sites by ward rather than by district, so these are its ward names, with the boundary review of May 2017 folded together. 200 records carry no ward and are listed further down.
- Portobello/Craigmillar24 sites · 1,526 homes · 4 building now
- Leith19 sites · 659 homes · 2 building now
- Almond16 sites · 1,729 homes · 8 building now
- Forth9 sites · 81 homes
- Craigentinny/Duddingston6 sites · 169 homes · 1 building now
- Leith Walk6 sites · 730 homes · 4 building now
- Liberton/Gilmerton6 sites · 467 homes · 2 building now
- Sighthill/Gorgie6 sites
- South Queensferry6 sites · 21 homes · 3 building now
- City Centre5 sites
- Gilmerton5 sites
- Corstorphine/Murrayfield4 sites
- Pentland Hills4 sites · 69 homes · 1 building now
- Drum Brae/Gyle3 sites · 250 homes · 1 building now
- Fountainbridge/Craiglockhart3 sites · 57 homes · 1 building now
- Granton3 sites
- Ingliston3 sites · 7,000 homes
- Morningside3 sites · 11 homes
- West Craigs / Turnhouse3 sites
- Colinton/Fairmilehead2 sites
- Fountainbridge2 sites · 234 homes · 1 building now
- Newington2 sites · 1 building now
- Blackford1 site
- Brunstane1 site
- Burdiehouse1 site
- Cammo1 site · 1 building now
- Canonmills1 site
- Chesser1 site
- Comely Bank1 site
- Craiglockhart1 site · 145 homes · 1 building now
- Craigmillar1 site
- Craigmillar / Niddrie1 site
- Edmonstone / The Wisp / Gilmerton1 site
- Gilmerton / Moredun / Burdiehouse area1 site
- Gogar1 site
- Gorgie1 site
- Greendykes / Craigmillar1 site
- Inverleith1 site
- Kirkliston1 site
- Leith Links1 site
- Little France / Edmonstone1 site
- Maybury / Gogar1 site
- Maybury / Turnhouse1 site
- Meadowbank1 site · 683 homes
- Moredun1 site
- Near Dean Village1 site
- New Town / Dundas Street1 site
- Newcraighall1 site · 220 homes · 1 building now
- Newhaven / Western Harbour1 site
- Peffermill1 site
- Pennywell / Muirhouse1 site
- Powderhall1 site
- Seafield / Portobello1 site
- The Meadows (Sciennes)1 site · 1 building now
- Turnhouse1 site · 1 building now
- Water of Leith / Dean area1 site
- West End1 site
- Wester Hailes1 site · 73 homes · 1 building now
Largest schemes
The biggest sites in Edinburgh
By homes with consent, finished schemes left out. Each opens the site's own page.
| Site | Where | Builder | Homes | Stage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Town | Ingliston | Not stated | 7,000 | Approved, not started |
| Granton Waterfront Regeneration (masterplan)Cruden Homes / City of Edinburgh Council / EDI Group | Granton | Cruden Homes / City of Edinburgh Council / EDI Group | 3,500 | Approved, not started |
| Elements | Ingliston | Not stated | 3,005 | Approved, not started |
| Seafield Redevelopment (masterplan)City of Edinburgh Council / 7N Architects | Seafield / Portobello | City of Edinburgh Council / 7N Architects | 2,700 | Approved, not started |
| Crosswinds | Edinburgh | Not stated | 2,500 | Approved, not started |
| Edinburgh BioQuarter | Edinburgh | Not stated | 2,500 | Approved, not started |
| Edinburgh BioQuarterScottish Enterprise | Little France / Edmonstone | Scottish Enterprise | 2,500 | Approved, not started |
| Edinburgh Park / South GyleParabola | Edinburgh | Parabola | 1,801 | Building now |
| West Craigs (masterplan) | Turnhouse | Not stated | 1,400 | Building now |
| East of Milburn TowerMurray Estates | Edinburgh | Murray Estates | 1,350 | Approved, not started |
No ward given
Sites the schedule does not place in a ward
200 records carry no ward in the council's schedule. Each is on the map by its coordinates, and each has its own page, largest first.
| Site | Builder | Homes | Stage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Crosswinds | Not stated | 2,500 | Approved, not started |
| Edinburgh BioQuarter | Not stated | 2,500 | Approved, not started |
| Edinburgh Park / South GyleParabola | Parabola | 1,801 | Building now |
| East of Milburn TowerMurray Estates | Murray Estates | 1,350 | Approved, not started |
| Turnhouse Road (SAICA) | Not stated | 1,000 | Approved, not started |
| Central Leith WaterfrontForth Ports | Forth Ports | 986 | Approved, not started |
| West Shore Road - Forth QuarterCity of Edinburgh Council | City of Edinburgh Council | 952 | Approved, not started |
| Waterfront WEL (Waterfront Edinburgh Limited) - Central Dev Area | Not stated | 899 | Approved, not started |
| Redford Barracks | Not stated | 800 | Approved, not started |
| Seafield | Not stated | 800 | Approved but held up |
| BrunstaneEDI Group | EDI Group | 654 | Approved, not started |
| Leith Waterfront, Western Harbour. (Plot O1, O2, N, K and I)Forth Properties | Forth Properties | 615 | Building now |
| Waterfront - WEL - North Shore | Not stated | 528 | Approved but held up |
| Leith Waterfront -Salamander Place | Not stated | 507 | Approved but held up |
| Astley Ainslie Hospital | Not stated | 500 | Approved, not started |
| Gorgie Road (East) | Not stated | 469 | Approved but held up |
| Fountainbridge (CEC)Cruden Homes | Cruden Homes | 464 | Building now |
| CammoBarratt Homes | Barratt Homes | 458 | Building now |
| Leith Waterfront, Western Harbour-Platinum Point | Not stated | 452 | Building now |
| West Shore Road - Forth QuarterCity of Edinburgh Council | City of Edinburgh Council | 444 | Building now |
| South Fort Street | Not stated | 414 | Approved but held up |
| IBGThe IBG Stakeholders | The IBG Stakeholders | 396 | Approved but held up |
| Murrayburn Road | Not stated | 384 | Approved but held up |
| No. 94 Ocean DriveS1 Developments | S1 Developments | 373 | Building now |
| St Clair Street | Not stated | 373 | Approved but held up |
| Jane Street | Not stated | 372 | Approved but held up |
| Royal Victoria Hospital | Not stated | 360 | Approved, not started |
| Buileyon Road (Phase3)Cala Homes | Cala Homes | 327 | Building now |
| Broomhouse Terrace | Not stated | 320 | Approved, not started |
| Maybury Central - Plots 10/11/12Barratt Homes / West Craigs | Barratt Homes / West Craigs | 318 | Building now |
| South ScotstounTaylor Wimpey | Taylor Wimpey | 308 | Building now |
| Bangor Road (Swanfield Ind Est) | Not stated | 290 | Approved but held up |
| Stevenson Road | Not stated | 290 | Approved but held up |
| Granton Harbour Plots 4, 7AGregor Shore PLC | Gregor Shore PLC | 288 | Building now |
| Central Leith Waterfront- Salamander StreetJohn G Russel Ltd | John G Russel Ltd | 285 | Approved, not started |
| Maybury Central - Plots 2/3Barratt Homes / West Craigs | Barratt Homes / West Craigs | 269 | Building now |
| Granton Harbour Plots 26 and 27Link Group | Link Group | 264 | Building now |
| Broughton Road (Powderhall) | Not stated | 262 | Approved, not started |
| Fettes Row | Not stated | 261 | Building now |
| No. 26 CleikiminrigE&A Partnerships Ltd & Niddrie Develop | E&A Partnerships Ltd & Niddrie Develop | 260 | Approved, not started |
| Leith Waterfront Western Harbour View. (Plot A1, A2, B1, B2 and C) | Not stated | 258 | Approved, not started |
| Crewe Road South | Not stated | 256 | Approved but held up |
| Ferry Road | Not stated | 256 | Building now |
| Land adj to Edinburgh Gateway, West | Not stated | 250 | Approved, not started |
| Ellens Glen Road | Not stated | 240 | Approved, not started |
| Granton Harbour plots 19a,20b,23a | Not stated | 226 | Approved but held up |
| Waterfront Central Development Area- Saltire StreetPlaces for People | Places for People | 218 | Approved, not started |
| Maybury Central - Plot 1Miller Homes / West Craigs | Miller Homes / West Craigs | 213 | Building now |
| Central Leith Waterfront- Bath RoadBarratt Homes | Barratt Homes | 212 | Building now |
| Stewartfield | Not stated | 207 | Approved but held up |
| 27 & 29 Beaverhall RoadBeaverhall Road Edinburgh Ltd | Beaverhall Road Edinburgh Ltd | 205 | Approved, not started |
| Leith Waterfront, Western Harbour. (Plot P2)Edinburgh Forthside Developments Ltd | Edinburgh Forthside Developments Ltd | 205 | Building now |
| Moredunvale RoadCity of Edinburgh Council | City of Edinburgh Council | 200 | Approved but held up |
| Turnhouse Road | Not stated | 200 | Approved but held up |
| Dalkeith RoadScottish Widows | Scottish Widows | 194 | Approved, not started |
| Newhaven Road 2 | Not stated | 193 | Approved, not started |
| CurriemuirendCity of Edinburgh Council | City of Edinburgh Council | 188 | Approved but held up |
| Leith Walk / Manderston Street | Not stated | 181 | Approved, not started |
| Newcraighall Road | Not stated | 176 | Approved, not started |
| SpringfieldCala Homes | Cala Homes | 176 | Building now |
| Fettes Row | Not stated | 174 | Building now |
| Granton Harbour Plots 20a,21,22Granton Central Developments | Granton Central Developments | 171 | Approved but held up |
| Gillespie Crescent | Not stated | 166 | Approved but held up |
| 69-71 Marionville RoadDandara | Dandara | 165 | Approved, not started |
| Maybury Central - Plot 4Wheatley Group | Wheatley Group | 158 | Building now |
| McDonald Road (B) | Not stated | 158 | Approved but held up |
| Seafield Street | Not stated | 155 | Approved, not started |
| Coburg Street | Not stated | 152 | Approved but held up |
| McDonald Place | Not stated | 152 | Approved but held up |
| Roseburn Street | Not stated | 152 | Approved but held up |
| Orchard Brae | Not stated | 151 | Approved, not started |
| Castlebrae (Greendykes Road) | Not stated | 145 | Approved, not started |
| Leith Waterfront, Western Harbour. (Plot G)Forth Properties | Forth Properties | 142 | Approved, not started |
| Maybury Central - Plot 5Wheatley Group | Wheatley Group | 142 | Building now |
| Fountainbridge (Moda)Moda Living | Moda Living | 140 | Building now |
| Greendykes (areas K and L)City of Edinburgh Council | City of Edinburgh Council | 140 | Building now |
| Gilmerton Station RoadTaylor Wimpey | Taylor Wimpey | 134 | Building now |
| Gorgie Road (Caledonian Packaging) | Not stated | 126 | Approved, not started |
| Sciennes RoadDowning Students | Downing Students | 126 | Building now |
| Dumbryden Drive | Not stated | 124 | Approved but held up |
| Site north-west of Ferrymuir Gait, South QueensferryAmbassador Homes | Ambassador Homes | 124 | Building now |
| Wellflats RoadDandara | Dandara | 124 | Building now |
| Granton Harbour - Plot 29Granton Central Developments | Granton Central Developments | 120 | Approved but held up |
| Inglis Green RoadJ Smart & Co (Contractors) PLC | J Smart & Co (Contractors) PLC | 120 | Approved, not started |
| Liberton Hospital | Not stated | 120 | Approved, not started |
| Leith Waterfront, Western Harbour. (Plot P1)Forth Properties | Forth Properties | 118 | Building now |
| London RoadDrum Property Group | Drum Property Group | 116 | Building now |
| Hutchison Road | Not stated | 114 | Approved, not started |
| London Road (B) | Not stated | 113 | Approved but held up |
| Salamander Place | Not stated | 113 | Approved, not started |
| Central Leith Waterfront- Ocean DriveDS Harrison Developments Limited | DS Harrison Developments Limited | 112 | Approved, not started |
| West Gorgie Park | Not stated | 110 | Approved but held up |
| Granton Harbour Plots 9a/9bGranton Central Developments | Granton Central Developments | 104 | Approved but held up |
| Old Liston Road | Not stated | 104 | Approved, not started |
| Sir Harry Lauder Road | Not stated | 104 | Approved but held up |
| EW 1C: Leith Waterfront - Salamander PlaceCruden Homes | Cruden Homes | 99 | Approved, not started |
| Granton Harbour Plots 7B, 8CGranton Central Developments | Granton Central Developments | 98 | Approved but held up |
| Pitt StreetJ Smart & Co (Contractors) PLC | J Smart & Co (Contractors) PLC | 98 | Approved, not started |
| Clovenstone House | Not stated | 97 | Approved, not started |
| Granton Harbour - Plot 31Granton Central Developments | Granton Central Developments | 97 | Approved but held up |
| Ratcliff Terrace | Not stated | 97 | Approved but held up |
| Regeneration Masterplan, Pennywell RoadUrban Union | Urban Union | 94 | Building now |
| Newhaven Road 1 | Not stated | 90 | Approved but held up |
| Ferrymuir | Not stated | 88 | Approved but held up |
| West Bowling Green Street | Not stated | 83 | Approved but held up |
| Edinburgh Zoo | Not stated | 80 | Approved but held up |
| Lanark Road (d) | Not stated | 80 | Approved, not started |
| South Scotstoun (Dimma Park)Taylor Wimpey | Taylor Wimpey | 72 | Building now |
| St John's Road (B) | Not stated | 72 | Approved but held up |
| Murieston Lane | Not stated | 69 | Approved, not started |
| Norton Park | Not stated | 69 | Approved but held up |
| Chalmers Street (Eye Pavillion) | Not stated | 68 | Approved, not started |
| Central Leith Waterfront - Bath RoadBarratt Homes | Barratt Homes | 66 | Building now |
| Donaldsons College 1B West Coates | Not stated | 63 | Approved, not started |
| Eyre Place | Not stated | 62 | Approved, not started |
| Murrayburn Gate | Not stated | 62 | Approved, not started |
| Bonnington Road | Not stated | 56 | Approved but held up |
| Orchard Brae Avenue | Not stated | 55 | Approved but held up |
| Leith Walk / Manderston StreetCW Properties, Cambay, And CA Ventures | CW Properties, Cambay, And CA Ventures | 54 | Building now |
| 1 - 11 Dalgety Road | Not stated | 51 | Approved, not started |
| 108-114 &116 Dundas Street (Centrum House)MMMARS Dundas Limited | MMMARS Dundas Limited | 49 | Approved, not started |
| Maybury Central - Plot 6cWest Craigs | West Craigs | 49 | Approved, not started |
| Watertoun RoadCala Homes | Cala Homes | 49 | Building now |
| Commercial Street | Not stated | 45 | Approved but held up |
| Dalry Road | Not stated | 45 | Approved, not started |
| Dundee Street | Not stated | 45 | Approved but held up |
| Dundee Terrace | Not stated | 45 | Approved but held up |
| Barnton Avenue West | Not stated | 44 | Approved, not started |
| Henderson Place LaneHenderson Place LLP | Henderson Place LLP | 42 | Building now |
| Broughton Market | Not stated | 41 | Approved but held up |
| East London Street | Not stated | 41 | Approved but held up |
| Portobello Road | Not stated | 41 | Approved but held up |
| Eastfield | Not stated | 40 | Approved but held up |
| Bath RoadBarratt Homes | Barratt Homes | 39 | Building now |
| Cowans Close | Not stated | 36 | Approved, not started |
| High School Yards | Not stated | 36 | Approved, not started |
| St John's RoadMactaggart & Mickel | Mactaggart & Mickel | 36 | Approved, not started |
| 14-17 Atholl CrescentMcLaughlin & Harvey Ltd | McLaughlin & Harvey Ltd | 34 | Approved, not started |
| Davie StreetAdria Developments Ltd | Adria Developments Ltd | 32 | Approved, not started |
| Moredun Park Loan | Not stated | 32 | Approved, not started |
| Morrisons at Gilmerton Road | Not stated | 32 | Approved, not started |
| Rae's Cresent | Not stated | 32 | Approved, not started |
| Leonards Hotel, 43 Jeffrey StreetLeonardo John Dalton House Ltd | Leonardo John Dalton House Ltd | 31 | Building now |
| Saughton Mains GardensManbay Homes | Manbay Homes | 31 | Approved, not started |
| Albert Street | Not stated | 28 | Approved but held up |
| Calder Estate (H) | Not stated | 28 | Approved, not started |
| Royston Terrace | Not stated | 28 | Approved, not started |
| Corruna Place | Not stated | 24 | Approved but held up |
| Craiglockhart Avenue | Not stated | 24 | Approved but held up |
| Duddingston Park South | Not stated | 24 | Approved, not started |
| Gilmerton Dykes Street | Not stated | 24 | Approved, not started |
| Old Dalkeith Road | Not stated | 24 | Approved, not started |
| St Leonard's Street (Car park) | Not stated | 24 | Approved, not started |
| Willowbrae Road | Not stated | 24 | Approved, not started |
| Broughton Road | Not stated | 23 | Approved but held up |
| 9-11 Maritime StreetRennick Property | Rennick Property | 22 | Building now |
| Cowans CloseCity of Edinburgh Council | City of Edinburgh Council | 19 | Building now |
| Burdiehouse Road | Not stated | 18 | Approved, not started |
| Central Leith Waterfront - Baltic StreetSundial Properties | Sundial Properties | 18 | Building now |
| Maybury Central- Plot 6B Former Meadowfield SteadingCala Homes | Cala Homes | 18 | Building now |
| Industry LaneThe Trustees Of The John Weir Ltd | The Trustees Of The John Weir Ltd | 17 | Approved, not started |
| Corstorphine Road (A) | Not stated | 16 | Approved, not started |
| Kirk Loan | Not stated | 16 | Approved but held up |
| Peffermill Road | Not stated | 16 | Approved but held up |
| Ferry Road | Not stated | 14 | Approved, not started |
| St John's Road (A) | Not stated | 14 | Approved but held up |
| Braid RoadPentland Investments Ltd | Pentland Investments Ltd | 11 | Approved, not started |
| Gayfield SquareMactaggart & Mickel | Mactaggart & Mickel | 11 | Building now |
| Kirk LoanStone Acre Corstorphine Ltd | Stone Acre Corstorphine Ltd | 11 | Approved, not started |
| Lanark Road | Not stated | 11 | Approved, not started |
| No. 49- 51 & 74 Eyre PlaceEyre Place Properties Ltd | Eyre Place Properties Ltd | 11 | Building now |
| Oxgangs PathNew Age Developers Ltd | New Age Developers Ltd | 11 | Building now |
| Oxgangs PathApplecross Creation Ltd | Applecross Creation Ltd | 11 | Approved, not started |
| Warriston Road | Not stated | 11 | Approved, not started |
| Gogarmuir RoadNewcrest Residential Limited | Newcrest Residential Limited | 10 | Building now |
| Peatville GardensCaledonian Heritable | Caledonian Heritable | 10 | Approved, not started |
| Claremont CrescentS1 Developments | S1 Developments | 9 | Approved, not started |
| Henderson PlaceRennick Development | Rennick Development | 9 | Approved, not started |
| Lennox RowMackenzie Residential Limited | Mackenzie Residential Limited | 9 | Building now |
| Pilrig Street | Not stated | 9 | Approved, not started |
| Clovenstone GardensProspect Community Housing | Prospect Community Housing | 8 | Approved, not started |
| Corstorphine Road (B) | Not stated | 8 | Approved, not started |
| Joppa Road | Not stated | 8 | Approved but held up |
| No. 7 MeadowbankCity Builds Ltd | City Builds Ltd | 8 | Approved, not started |
| Pitt StreetBuckley Building UK Ltd | Buckley Building UK Ltd | 8 | Building now |
| Watson Crescent Lane | Not stated | 8 | Approved, not started |
| York LaneEdinburgh Construction Ltd | Edinburgh Construction Ltd | 8 | Approved, not started |
| Colinton RoadJ + J Property Development | J + J Property Development | 7 | Building now |
| Eyre PlaceCA Europe UK Operating Company Limited | CA Europe UK Operating Company Limited | 7 | Approved, not started |
| Redhall House Drive | Not stated | 7 | Building now |
| 7-7 A Newcraighall Road | Not stated | 6 | Approved, not started |
| Bridge StreetMcTaggart Properties Ltd | McTaggart Properties Ltd | 6 | Approved, not started |
| Church HillStratheding Properties Limited | Stratheding Properties Limited | 6 | Building now |
| Duddingston Road WestFormat Design | Format Design | 6 | Approved, not started |
| Lanark Road West | Not stated | 6 | Approved, not started |
| No. 10 Currievale ParkCarlsson Properties | Carlsson Properties | 6 | Approved, not started |
| Overton Farm House, Overton Farm RoadS1 Developments | S1 Developments | 6 | Approved, not started |
| Restalrig Road | Not stated | 6 | Building now |
| Pitt Street | Not stated | 5 | Approved, not started |
| Stoneycroft Road | Not stated | 5 | Approved, not started |
Buying into one of these, letting near one, or weighing the return.
A new estate in Edinburgh brings first owners who later move on and let, tenants who want a modern home near the same schools and stations, and a supply figure worth knowing before you buy. Tell us which you are and the right person calls you back.