New homes
Every new build site in Edinburgh and the Lothians
Every housing site with planning consent across Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian and West Lothian, built from the four councils' own housing land audits and their live planning registers. It covers 1,073 sites and 76,935 homes, 67,700 of them still to build.
The map opens on the 806 sites with a firm record behind them. Completed schemes, sites only allocated in a local plan, and the ones we have placed from a single source are all a tick-box away in its own filters. Last updated August 2026, and refreshed monthly. Free to reuse with credit, under CC BY 4.0.
By council and town
The same sites, as a list you can link to
Each council has its own page, each town under it has one, and every site has one of its own: the builder, the planning reference, what the council's schedule records and where the record comes from.
The largest schemes
The twelve biggest sites on the map
By homes with consent, finished schemes left out. A masterplan's figure is the whole masterplan; its page says how much of it is counted and how much is built.
| Site | Where | Builder | Homes | Stage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Town | Ingliston, Edinburgh | Not stated | 7,000 | Approved, not started |
| Granton Waterfront Regeneration (masterplan)Cruden Homes / City of Edinburgh Council / EDI Group | Granton, Edinburgh | Cruden Homes / City of Edinburgh Council / EDI Group | 3,500 | Approved, not started |
| Elements | Ingliston, Edinburgh | Not stated | 3,005 | Approved, not started |
| Seafield Redevelopment (masterplan)City of Edinburgh Council / 7N Architects | Seafield / Portobello, Edinburgh | City of Edinburgh Council / 7N Architects | 2,700 | Approved, not started |
| Crosswinds | Edinburgh | Not stated | 2,500 | Approved, not started |
| Edinburgh BioQuarter | Edinburgh | Not stated | 2,500 | Approved, not started |
| Edinburgh BioQuarterScottish Enterprise | Little France / Edmonstone, Edinburgh | Scottish Enterprise | 2,500 | Approved, not started |
| Gavieside FarmPersimmon Homes | Livingston, West Lothian | Persimmon Homes | 1,900 | Approved, not started |
| Edinburgh Park / South GyleParabola | Edinburgh | Parabola | 1,801 | Building now |
| West Craigs (masterplan) | Turnhouse, Edinburgh | Not stated | 1,400 | Building now |
| East of Milburn TowerMurray Estates | Edinburgh | Murray Estates | 1,350 | Approved, not started |
| The New Village, Edinburgh ParkMurray Estates | Gogar, Edinburgh | Murray Estates | 1,350 | Approved, not started |
The newest consents
The twelve sites most recently granted consent
By the date the council granted planning consent, newest first, with finished and constrained schemes left out. A site whose record carries a note instead of a date is not guessed at.
| Site | Where | Builder | Homes | Stage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colinshiel Armadale | Armadale & Blackridge, West Lothian | Not stated | 470 | Approved, not started |
| Whitecraig | Whitecraig, East Lothian | Not stated | 363 | Approved, not started |
| Block X Winchburgh | Broxburn, Uphall & Winchburgh, West Lothian | Not stated | 98 | Approved, not started |
| Area F Land At Windygoul South Tranent | Tranent, East Lothian | Not stated | 76 | Approved, not started |
| Falkirk Road Linlithgow | Linlithgow, West Lothian | Not stated | 13 | Approved, not started |
| Land North And East Of 125 Main Street Winchburgh | Broxburn, Uphall & Winchburgh, West Lothian | Not stated | 36 | Approved, not started |
| Auldhill Road, Bridgend FarmCallanish Homes | Bridgend, West Lothian | Callanish Homes | 61 | Approved, not started |
| Former Wallyford Primary School Albert Place (north) Wallyford | Wallyford, East Lothian | Not stated | 60 | Approved, not started |
| Prince's GateBellway Homes | Blindwells, East Lothian | Bellway Homes | 217 | Approved, not started |
| Seafield Road Area CTaylor Wimpey | Roslin/Bilston, Midlothian | Taylor Wimpey | 214 | Approved, not started |
| Former Herdmanflat Hopsital Phase 1 | Haddington, East Lothian | Not stated | 51 | Approved, not started |
| Bangour Village Hospital Dechmont | Broxburn, Uphall & Winchburgh, West Lothian | Not stated | 395 | Approved, not started |
Who is building
The builders the councils' records name most
Every verified organisation named on 3 or more records, most sites first. Spellings of one name are folded together and a joint venture counts for each partner; each name opens the developer's own page, with its website and what it lists for sale today.
| Builder | Councils | Sites | Homes | Building now | Website |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Lothian Council | West Lothian | 47 | 553 | westlothian.gov.uk | |
| Taylor Wimpey | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 33 | 5,354 | taylorwimpey.co.uk | |
| Ambassador Homes | Edinburgh, East Lothian, West Lothian | 30 | 1,483 | ambassador-homes.co.uk | |
| Cala Homes | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 29 | 2,827 | cala.co.uk | |
| Bellway Homes | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 25 | 2,861 | bellway.co.uk | |
| Persimmon Homes | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 24 | 4,731 | persimmonhomes.com | |
| Barratt Homes | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 24 | 3,638 | barratthomes.co.uk | |
| WElink Group | West Lothian | 22 | 1,885 | welink.eu | |
| Cruden Homes | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 21 | 1,450 | crudengroup.co.uk | |
| Miller Homes | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 19 | 2,278 | millerhomes.co.uk | |
| Winchburgh Developments | West Lothian | 16 | 1,645 | winchburghdevelopments.com | |
| Shawfair LLP | Midlothian | 15 | 2,460 | shawfair.co.uk | |
| City of Edinburgh Council | Edinburgh | 13 | 1,750 | edinburgh.gov.uk | |
| Places for People | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 13 | 960 | placesforpeople.co.uk | |
| Springfield Properties | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 13 | 715 | springfield.co.uk | |
| Wheatley Group | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian | 10 | 566 | wheatley-group.com | |
| Avant Homes | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 9 | 978 | avanthomes.co.uk | |
| Dundas Estates | Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 8 | 836 | dundas.co.uk | |
| Midlothian Council | Midlothian | 8 | 255 | midlothian.gov.uk | |
| Lovell Homes | Edinburgh, Midlothian, West Lothian | 7 | 836 | newhomes.lovell.co.uk | |
| Mactaggart & Mickel | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian | 6 | 505 | macmic.co.uk | |
| David Wilson Homes | Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian | 6 | 408 | dwh.co.uk | |
| East Lothian Council | East Lothian | 6 | 308 | eastlothian.gov.uk | |
| CCG (Scotland) Ltd | Edinburgh, West Lothian | 6 | 91 | ccghomes.co.uk |
Homes are counted once, as everywhere on this page: a builder whose sites the council’s audit holds under another name shows the sites and not the homes.
All 96 verified developers, and the applicants we could not verifyHow to read the map
What the stages and the grades mean
The words are the councils' own. A housing land audit has a vocabulary of its own, and the map's legend has no room to explain it.
The seven stages
- Building nowUnder construction in the audit
- Work has started on site. The council's audit or the planning register records it as under construction.
- Approved, not startedConsented in the audit
- Planning permission has been granted and work has not started. The largest group on the map.
- Minded to grant
- The council's committee has resolved to approve, and the permission is waiting on a legal agreement, usually for infrastructure or affordable housing, before it is issued.
- Application in progressApplication pending in the audit
- A planning application has been submitted and not yet decided.
- Approved but held upConstrained in the audit
- The council's audit records something stopping the site coming forward as expected: ownership, funding, infrastructure, ground conditions or the market. Where the audit gives the reason, the site's page carries it.
- In the plan, no consentAllocated in the audit
- Allocated for housing in the council's local development plan, with no planning application decided. Drawn as a ring, and unticked when the map opens.
- Just finishedCompleted in the audit
- Built out, and recorded as complete in the most recent audit. Unticked when the map opens, and kept so a scheme that finished this year does not vanish from the record.
How solid each record is
- High confidence
- The council's current housing land audit lists the site. Units, status and position come from the council's own schedule.
- Medium confidence
- A recent consent or an announced scheme not yet in an audit: from the planning register, or from the developer or the press, placed from its address or postcode.
- Low confidence
- An older consent the current audit has dropped, or a scheme whose pin is only approximate. Drawn faintly, and unticked when the map opens.
What the totals count
The totals count each home once. A site the council's audit already holds under another name, or one announced by a developer and not yet in any council schedule, is drawn on the map and left out of the totals.
A dashed ring on the map means the pin is approximate: placed on the postcode area or the town centre rather than the site boundary. Each site’s page says how it was placed.
Buying into one of these, letting near one, or weighing the return.
A new estate brings first owners who later move on and let, tenants who want a modern home near the same schools and stations, and a supply figure worth knowing before you buy. Tell us which you are and the right person calls you back.